Thursday, February 28, 2013


A sketch of the press used for making prints at artist Chrys Allen’s studio.
She is holding an ‘Open Studio’ on the 9th and 10th March as part of the Telegraph Hill Festival in south east London.

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

The new Lone Ranger?

One of the Wigan footballers, James McArthur, wore a face mask in a game at the weekend. 
Obviously a nod to the new Disney 'Lone Ranger' film out soon starring Johnny Depp and Arnie Hammer.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Friday, February 22, 2013


Ceramic bowls by London potter Mary Gordon-Smith.  
More of her work at

Monday, February 18, 2013


A little drawing of a Jack Russell called Skid, belonging to the artist at the printmaking workshop I attended this weekend.

Friday, February 15, 2013

People at London Fashion Week



Some of the characters at Somerset House waiting to go in and see catwalk shows at  
London Fashion Week which continues until Tuesday 19th February.


Thursday, February 14, 2013

Mistaken identity?

I went to draw the statue of the winged love god Eros in Piccadilly Circus yesterday.  Or so I thought.  There is a rumour that the statue is actually of Eros’ twin brother, Anteros. 
The figure was sculpted in aluminium by Alfred Gilbert around 1892-3.  

(urban sketch)

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

The Great Court at the British Museum

(urban sketch)

(colour added later)

The tall vertical objects are the backs of Haida Totem Poles.

Monday, February 11, 2013

train people

Some sketches from the train journey to Brighton and back yesterday.
For me, Lynne Chapman is the queen of train sketching. 

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Rock Dove

The last of the drawings I made of the stuffed birds at the Horniman Museum in London. 
 Seem to have gone a bit wild on the claws!

Monday, February 4, 2013


A member of the parrot family, the Lovebird is a native of Africa.  
These two are part of the Natural History collection at the Horniman Museum in south London.
See more of their collection online at

Saturday, February 2, 2013