Sunday, August 31, 2014

Pop-up music

A compilation of the sketches I made yesterday at the Croydon Pop-up Emporium during a music event showcasing local talent organised by CDNzine

Saturday, August 30, 2014


Sketching musicians at Croydon Pop-up Emporium today.  More tomorrow.

Friday, August 29, 2014


I'm taking part in an exhibition this weekend.  More pics later.  
Poster by John Marshall

Thursday, August 28, 2014

in the post

I was lucky enough to be given a voucher to spend on art materials when some of my sketches were featured in an article recently and the parcels have arrived!

Saturday, August 23, 2014

wish you were here

I went out drawing today with the Turf Projects group who have been running a series of drawing workshops in Croydon.  We were given some postcards to record our impressions of Croydon - I choose to draw the reflection of the old Town Hall in the windows of the new council offices.

Some of the group who took part today.

Turf Projects are currently running an 'Art meets Golf' pitch and putt at East Croydon Station and they start a new series of workshops in September.  More details about their activities here at

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Wednesday, August 20, 2014


Another oldie from the bottom of the plans chest - this time location drawing in north Wales.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Gimme shelter

Having a sort out, so be prepared for lots of old pieces - this one is ancient but I've always liked it.  Mainly ink with bleach to add the light effects - not always to be recommended, especially if you treasure your brushes. 

Monday, August 18, 2014

Friday, August 15, 2014


I'm getting some biscuit and fruit prints ready for the Arts&Crafts Market in Croydon tomorrow.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Sketching Wren's city - St Vedant Foster Lane

Made a start on another of the Wren churches - hopefully will be able to pop back sometime and continue.  I was out drawing with Evelyn from the London Urbansketchers.  The photo shows her drawing of the spire of St Mary-le-bow.  
See more of her work here

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Hospital visit

I was asked if I'd like to exhibit some work in the library of the Post Graduate Medical Centre at Croydon University Hospital.  I'm showing a couple of my back garden pieces and a couple of Croydon buildings, along with two other artists, Bev Jones and John Bateson Hall.

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Sketching Wren's city - reflection of the spire of St Margaret Pattens

Had a really nice day today on a sketchcrawl organised by London Urban Sketcher Pete Scully around the many buildings in London designed by Sir Christopher Wren.

Friday, August 1, 2014


In front of the 'Musee des Arts et Metiers' in Paris, there is a model of the Statue of Liberty.  Designed by Frederic Bartholdi, this is the 6ft bronze model he made in 1870 in preparation for the full-size version.

For more information on their collections, go to