Wednesday, December 31, 2014

twitter favourites

Three of my favourite 'tweeters' from 2014.  A mixed bag but all worth a follow - @Swearing_Queen, @Alex_T_Smith and @98rosjon.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

you've been framed

Visited the Saatchi Gallery today where there are lots of interesting pieces of work in a variety of different styles but the most beautiful thing there was the view of a winter sunset from the upper floor.  This photo doesn't do it justice.

Monday, December 29, 2014

Sketching London 2014

I've made a slideshow of some of my favourite drawings of London from this year - hope you will enjoy!

Sunday, December 28, 2014

big dipper

Another drawing from the sketchcrawl yesterday with the London Urban Sketchers at the Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park.

Saturday, December 27, 2014

The revolving bar...

Out today with the London Urban Sketchers in Winter Wonderland at Hyde Park - cold, but a great place to draw.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Metal boxes

Ralph Steadman's take on 'Breaking Bad' in the form of DVD metal covers.

Monday, December 22, 2014

in print

Spotted copies of Gabi Campanario's new book, 'The Urban Sketchers Handbook' in the shop at Somerset House.  I'm pleased to say I have a drawing included!

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

you wait for one...

Half a dozen of the bus sculptures on the Croydon Bus Trail celebrating the Year of the Bus.  

Monday, December 15, 2014

turkey dinner

I illustrated a page of the Tesco Christmas Magazine this month showing how to cook the perfect turkey.

Saturday, December 13, 2014


I made a quick sketch which is being used on the logo for the forthcoming 'Ambition' Festival in Croydon next summer.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Art shop

Artists have always looked for new spaces to use as studios, leading the way into new areas in towns and cities but I don’t remember hearing of an artist setting up a studio in a shopping centre before.  Hale Man is currently the ‘Artist in Residence’ at the Whitgift Centre in Croydon and I had a chance to see inside her studio earlier this week, viewing large sculptures and new paintings.  She has been working in the former shop unit for several months and seems to be enjoying the experience, doing her own projects and also running workshops.  
The studio is open to the public at various times so do check out her website for more information -

Hale Man
Art Studios
Unit 50/51
The Whitgift Centre

*The photographs show details from two of her 3D pieces.

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

on reflection

An instagram of the Saffron Tower in Croydon.  Did I mention that I have a bus sculpture nestling underneath it?!

Monday, December 8, 2014

It's all about the bus...

A look at my finished decorated bus which forms part of the Croydon Bus Trail celebrating 'The Year of the Bus'.  Full details of the trail can be found here on the Tfl website

Friday, December 5, 2014


My image of a champagne cork has been made into a repeat design for the cover of the New Year's Eve brochure for The Goodwood Hotel. 

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Egon Schiele

Small but fantastic exhibition currently on at the Courtauld Gallery of drawings by Egon Schiele.

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

deck the halls

My drawing of holly has been used by The Goodwood Hotel on their online brochure this year.

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

walking in a winter wonderland

Map for 'Love Wimbledon' illustrating the various rides and attractions at their Winter Wonderland day last Sunday. 

Friday, November 28, 2014

Andy Warhol in Croydon

Front window of the new Rise Gallery in Croydon, currently showing work by Damien Hirst amongst others.

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Christmas stockings

Illustration on a Christmas card for a client in the education sector.

Monday, November 24, 2014

nearing the end of the journey...

I'm nearing the end of painting my bus sculpture - just adding the final details.  Big reveal is on December 8th!

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Next Sunday

I'll be selling my biscuit prints next Sunday at the Christmas Market at Langley Park Boys School.

Saturday, November 22, 2014

summer photo

One of my photos from the summer - bicycles in Paris.  It all seems a long way off now the weather is cold and miserable in London!

Friday, November 21, 2014

Wednesday, November 19, 2014


Still on the bus... using acrylics is a lot different to watercolour!

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Sketching 365

It was exciting to be asked to contribute some images to a new book by London Urbansketcher Katherine Tyrell.  The book is called 'Sketching 365' and you can find out more about it on her blog - this is the link

Monday, November 17, 2014

The John Ruskin Prize

Exhibition currently on at Trinity Buoy Wharf entitled 'Recording Britain Now' - drawings selected by the Campaign for Drawing for the John Ruskin Prize.  More information on the exhibition here

Thursday, November 13, 2014

waiting for the bus

This is the bus sculpture I am currently painting - all will be revealed on December 8th!

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Wimbledon nightlife

I illustrated a map for the 'Love Wimbledon' team last year and this year updated it to highlight the nightlife.