Saturday, February 28, 2015


Another of the vases by Grayson Perry on display at the National Portrait Gallery.

Friday, February 27, 2015

'Huhne Vase'

Two shots of the 'Huhne Vase' by Grayson Perry currently on display at the National Portrait Gallery.
Read more about it in this Guardian article from last year-

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

on the trail

The art group I belong to are organising an Art Trail during the summer so another meeting was called for...

Tuesday, February 24, 2015


One of the wooden speakers in Durham Art Gallery which is part of an interactive music exhibit by Owl Project entitled 'Generation Noise'.

Monday, February 23, 2015


Instagram of trees, which always seem particularly graphic at this time of the year.

Saturday, February 21, 2015

Year of the sheep

Chinese New Year celebrations in Croydon today at Hale Man's shopping centre studio.  Art activities under red paper lanterns and an opportunity 'stretch like a tiger' in a Tai Chi demonstration.

More information about Hale Man and her work here at

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Sydenham Artists Trail 2015

The Sydenham Artists Trail will be running again this July!  If you would like to take part, please contact the organisers by the 15th March.  The website address is I've enjoyed taking part for the last two years.

Monday, February 16, 2015


Lots of interesting  work in this year's Lynn Painter-Stainers Prize exhibition currently showing at the Mall Galleries.  Details here

Sunday, February 15, 2015

A different kind of Urban Sketching

Drawings from today's 'Femme Fierce' street art event in Croydon.  I did the B&W drawings on the spot and then added some colour with Photoshop.  

It is difficult to try and sketch what the artists are painting but you can get a flavour from the Femme Fierce Facebook page at

Two of the artists at work

The event was held in conjunction with the Rise Gallery , who will be holding an exhibition of street art later this month. For more details

Saturday, February 14, 2015

Love Lane, South Norwood

Yes, the road is actually called that!  Thought it would make a good post for Valentine's Day, although it was very chilly when I went along to sketch so I ended up taking photographs and working from them.

Friday, February 13, 2015

Thursday, February 12, 2015

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Lot 48

Lot 48 Image

The decorated bus I painted at the end of last year is now up for auction, along with all the rest of the designs, hoping to raise money for three charities - Kids Company, Transaid and the London Transport Museum.

Monday, February 9, 2015

This time, last year...

Reminiscing about this time last year when I was lucky enough to go on a day trip to Paris.  Almost made the Eiffel Tower disappear with a glitch in the panoramic shot below.

Friday, February 6, 2015

Wednesday, February 4, 2015

work in progress

Detail from a sunny watercolour commission I'm working on today - just from photographs though!

Monday, February 2, 2015

Art amongst the pickled eggs

Penge Fish & Chip shop 'Wills' are currently exhibiting work by the SE20 Art group.  
Pop in to their shop on the High Street to take a look. 

Sunday, February 1, 2015

underground, overground

Two instagram pictures from yesterday's walk though South Norwood; in the subway under the railtracks and over the tracks in a temporary bridge.